I will conduct myself in a manner worthy of the Good News

Sarcasm comes easily to me. So does laziness. Doubt, jealousy, envy, pride. My list of personal sins goes on for pages. Good thing for me that Jesus washed those sins away and I can now stand righteous before God. Also because of Jesus, I want to live separately from those character traits.

Want to, but don’t always.

When the woman at the checkout in Walmart takes f.o.r.e.v.e.r or someone cuts me off on the highway, when my littlest little (two years old and perfecting her tantrum throwing) breaks glass with her squeals, when my husband tells me some mean and juicy tidbit about his employer, I lose my focus on living separately from sarcasm, irritability, and just plain petty thoughts. When doubt settles over my mind and I think any effort is futile, laziness and hopelessness grab hold of me. It’s these times that I need to repeat today’s confession and remember just what it means:

I will conduct myself in a manner worthy of the Good News.

You’ll find the entire verse at Philippians 1:27. I used to think it meant simply that I was to be kind and not gossip or tell lies. It certainly means that, but there’s so much more. Conducting myself in a manner worthy of the Good News of Jesus Christ means I will not accept the lies of Satan, and they are many. I will not give in to the demands of the world. I will tell people of the wonders of God. I will pray. I will listen to the Holy Spirit, and I will fight for the battleground of my mind. When I leave this world, people will know what I stood for and where I will spend eternity.

I will conduct myself in a manner worthy of the Good News.

How about you? How will you conduct yourself?

Leave a Reply

