I will not be shaken

Ever feel caught in the cross hairs?

If you believe in spiritual warfare, this is a fairly creepy experience. To think I can’t move without some kind of evil following me is unnerving. I want to hide under the bed or in the closet. I want to cry, quietly lest he hear me. I am filled with an urgent need to protect my children.

I suppose it started around Thanksgiving. My mom realized there was a leak in her kitchen pipes that sent water cascading into her basement. The damage extended into two rooms. The reconstruction crew has been less than adequate, causing stress, inconvenience, and a lot of time and money.

A week and a half before Christmas, my husband was in a car accident. Someone hit him from behind at nearly 80mph. (He and the other driver are okay, by the way.) Six days later, he hyperextended his knee at work and is possibly facing surgery and about a year of rehab. Walking, sitting, even lying down has become extremely painful.

And now, one week after my husband injured his knee, my parents have been in a car accident. None of these things have impacted my body directly, but my mind? Totally different story. I want to hide, to cry, to protect what’s mine. I want to escape the enemy and his attack.

Until this morning, I haven’t thought of hiding in the Bible. Now I open the pages, searching for reassurance, and realize this is my escape. I remember God and the enemy simply becomes annoying. When I focus on God, the enemy actually disappears. The Psalms are filled with encouragement, promises of God’s protection, and confessions of truth. Like this gem:

God is our refuge and strength, always ready to help in times of trouble. So we will not fear when earthquakes come and the mountains crumble into the sea. Psalm 46:1-2

And this:

I will not be shaken, for he is right beside me. Psalm 16:8

I will not be shaken.

I say it again. I will not be shaken. I will say it so many times today that it gets burned into my brain. Let the earthquakes come and the mountains crumble. I will not be shaken because I choose to believe in God’s goodness, His love, His sovereignty, and His protection.

How do you react when Satan aims his arrows? Are you shaken, or can you take comfort and confidence in God’s protection?

One thought on “I will not be shaken

Leave a Reply

