What are you afraid of?

There is some absurd statistic that says people are way more afraid of public speaking than they are of death. Well, that’s true for me because I know where I’m going when I die. Frankly, it’s a lot nicer than where I am now. The point is that they’re afraid.

I never counted myself in this group because public speaking didn’t seem to bother me. Until I began thinking about it in marketing for my novels. And I’m SCARED. Paralyzed. Can’t breathe, can’t think, can’t speak.

I. Can’t. Speak.

What do I have to say that people would care to hear? What experiences to I have that would benefit others? Why, oh why, would anyone sit in front of me and give up their precious time to listen to something I say? Am I credible? Am I interesting? Funny? If nothing else, humor is a good way to keep people from throwing things at me.

Today’s confession and truth come together. I am confessing the truth to this ridiculous fear.

Confession: As for me, I look to the Lord for help. I wait confidently for God to save me, and my God will certainly hear me. Micah 7:7

The truth is that when I read these words from the Bible, I do gain confidence. But not in myself. I will remain confident in God. He will save me. He will hear me. He will deliver me. Will I be funny? Interesting or credible? I don’t know. But it’s not about me. It’s about Him.

What is your fear, and what is your confession of truth?

Leave a Reply

