Whatever is not from faith

I wonder what life looks like for people who don’t doubt themselves. More importantly, for those who don’t doubt God. How easy must it be to take the necessary steps to achieve their goals. To see each step, to know how to accomplish it, and to know what step to take next. Never doubting their ability to overcome. Never fearing the possibilities. Never getting sidetracked by life.

I wonder what my life would look like if I stopped doubting God. Would I have a publisher? Would I be one of those uber successful self-published authors who has scads of readers? Would I have a thriving career that includes public speaking, marketing, and networking with experts in my field? Would I respect myself and the ability God has given me?

Confession: When I see my goal, I let minute details draw my focus away from it. House chores, phone calls, internet research, family expectations. The list is endless. I allow these distractions because it’s easier than facing the doubt and fear. This smacks of distrust in God. Today, I will take deliberate steps to confront doubt and fear, and to prove His power and love for me.

Truth: But he who doubts is condemned if he eats, because he does not eat from faith; for whatever is not from faith is sin. Romans 14:23

But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for he who doubts is like a wave of the sea driven and tossed by the wind. James 1:6

What are you doing to confront doubt and fear today?

Leave a Reply

