A single affirmation can change your life

Fraidy Cat Confessions. I’ve confessed often how I’m afraid of everything, including my own shadow some days. You know what’s happened in just a few posts? I’ve become more afraid. I’ve let fear rule my mind and my spirit. There is power in our words. Never underestimate that.

This blog isn’t about being afraid of everything. It’s about changing fear into faith, and experiencing the power and love of the Almighty God as we do so. I’m tired of being afraid. Tired of letting it control what I think, what I do. I want better for my life and I want to show my kids that there is a better way for them. In short, I want to change my life. Want to join me and change yours too?

To do that, I’ve recently begun looking into affirmations. What they are, how they work, why they’re important. I don’t have much in the way of concrete research, but I do have the basics, and I have personal experience. Nothing better than personal experience, is there?

If you’re not familiar with affirmations, they’re very simple and, done consistently, life-changing.

As the word indicates, an affirmation is a positive statement. It can be long or short, but it should be something that you can remember and recall as necessary. Something to focus your mind and your thoughts on each day. I recently read that it takes no less than 30 days of repeating an affirmation to make it stick. To change the way you think. To change the way you react to life and whatever it throws your way. You should recite your affirmation several times in the morning and several times in the evening, and again anytime life challenges it. I’ll give an example below.

Where do you find affirmations? Lots of places, including books, mp3s, music, and some internet sites. Be careful where you look! You don’t want an affirmation that simply reinforces your poor life choices or your feelings of helplessness, hopelessness, or victimization. They might make you feel better temporarily, but they are not be true affirmations.

I choose to find my affirmations in – no surprise to you, I’ll bet – the Bible.

So, I will still be confessing the Truth in this blog, but it will take a slightly different form. Several times a week, I will post an affirmation as my confession. If you want to use this affirmation, please do! If you want to find a different one, please do!

Here’s my affirmation/confession:

Confession: I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Philippians 4:13

I will confess this truth/recite this affirmation several times a day for the next 30 days. When fear or doubt threatens, I will remind myself that I CAN do ALL things through Jesus Christ who strengthens me.

What is your affirmative statement? Post a comment and let me know how you expect it to change your life!

Leave a Reply

