God blesses those who mourn, for they will be comforted

God is Almighty.

Blessed be the name of the Lord.

He is compassionate and full of comfort.

Have you ever tried to go through the alphabet and ascribe one of God’s traits to each letter? I never did until now. It’s harder than I thought, but not because I can’t think of anything. (Okay, X and Z have me a little stumped.) I’m having trouble landing on just ONE of God’s traits for each letter. Today’s affirmation for C is no different, and maybe you have some thoughts on this one too.

I had the beautiful opportunity this weekend to talk to a few people about their fears and their deepest sorrows come to life. For one woman, it was an intense fear of heights that impacts time spent with her mother, who lives over several steep mountain passes. For another woman, it was a tragic loss that no one will ever understand. And for yet another, it was the fear of losing a loved one to the past. As I prayed for these women, God’s heart became clear. And so did today’s affirmation.

The comforter nature of God is so evident in the Bible. I could confess His Creator-nature or His companionship. I could pull out Scripture about being committed to Him, or about how He cleanses us from sin. All those things are true and worth considering. And yet, it’s His compassion that people often overlook. It’s His kindness that leads us to repentance (Romans 2:4). Okay, kindness is a ‘k’ word, but you get the point.

God blesses those who mourn, for they will be comforted.

Today’s confession comes from Matthew 5:4, but the Psalms are chock-full of evidence of God’s comfort.

Psalm 10:17: “LORD, you know the hopes of the helpless. Surely you will hear their cries and comfort them.”

Psalm 23:4: “Even when I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me. Your rod and your staff protect and comfort me.”

Psalm 94:19: “When doubts filled my mind, your comfort gave me renewed hope and cheer.”

Psalm 119:50: “Your promise revives me; it comforts me in all my troubles.”

God comforts us, but what a blessing it is to comfort others in the name of the Lord. It builds my faith and reminds me of the truth. God blesses those who mourn, for they will be comforted. And for those who mourn, I pray that God’s promise comforts them, and that His comfort will give them renewed hope.

What troubles do you face today? How do you feel God’s comfort in the midst of them?

2 thoughts on “God blesses those who mourn, for they will be comforted

  1. I am much like the third woman. I find comfort through prayer and the prayers of a few select people that I can ask to pray for me.

  2. He meets us in prayer, Beth. It always amazes me that the God of the universe listens when I pray, and then He loves me enough to do something! Praying for your comfort and peace – and that He will move in a mighty way for you. ❤

Leave a Reply

