The Lord is my deliverer

It is late and my family sleeps. (Well, my littlest little fusses in bed, but she’s supposed to be asleep.) The night is dark, quiet, seemingly peaceful, but I know…

Women in my own city – in every city across the world – are held in bondage.

Children lie terrified in their beds.

Men sit with their hands fisted in their hair, fighting the urge to do something drastic to make a little money for their families.

We need deliverance, and it feels more urgent now than ever before by listening to people. We’re looking for someone to rescue us from the pain, hopelessness, and fear.

My husband and I watched The Hunger Games movie today. I’ve read the books, but one line from the movie reached out and snared me. I don’t remember if it’s in the book. President Snow says, “There is one thing stronger than fear. Hope.”

Like many people, it is at night that fear grips my heart hardest. With an unrelenting hold, it flashes my worst nightmares in front of my mind’s eye. It tells me I’m not enough, I’ll never make it, and my family will suffer unspeakable pain. I might listen but for the still small voice that nudges me to hope.

What a powerful drug hope is. It encourages us to keep going, to fight against all odds. It picks us up by the bootstraps and kicks us in the pants. That still small voice carries the promise of hope to my spirit. It reminds me that the Lord is my deliverer, and He is coming.

Psalm 18:2 makes me think of someone who has nothing left, someone who is holding on to the last thread of hope with all his might. He holds on, knowing the truth in spite of appearances. “The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; My God, my strength, in whom I will trust; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.”

The Lord is my deliverer.

I don’t know why people suffer, why children are abused, or why God doesn’t just smite the offender where he or she stands. I only know the truth I choose to believe. Yahweh, God Almighty, the one who created the heavens and the earth, is my deliverer. A day will come when we don’t suffer. Children will be loved and cherished. Justice will prevail because my deliverer is coming. Will you confess it with me?

How will it change your life today to believe God is your deliverer?

4 thoughts on “The Lord is my deliverer

  1. I sit here and have so many questions about my present situation. I am holding onto not the last thread but close. I have been with out a job now for near 5 mos. I have lost so many things, have very little food in the house, no money in my wallet, car needs so much repair, the list is long, and yet it could be so much worse. I do know one thing, I am very hopeful and faith in my Lord to deliver is guaranteed. I have more precious things I have been with out much longer, the presence of my children, their children, and wives. I have been many years away from them. I would love to be apart of their lives in living color. Of all the things I do not have, that is what I miss most in my life. My heart hurts and longs for this. I keep my hope and faith strong. He will deliver for me fully, He is coming and bringing my gifts with Him. This situation I find myself in will stress me and try to make me give up. I march on, keep my chin up, and pray faithfully. I can feel His presence, and know when it is my time to receive, He will give abundantly and deliver to me all I pray for and so much more.

  2. I with there was an easy answer for life’s biggest hurts, Karen. But God says His ways are far above our own and He works all things together for good for those that love Him and are called according to His purpose. That’s not to say we won’t suffer. Christ Himself suffered immensely. The disciples suffered and many gave their lives. We don’t fight flesh and blood, but the powers and principalities of darkness. Keep praying. Keep believing. Read His word for encouragement and strength. And CONFESS THE TRUTH, then act on it in faith. God is your deliverer and your defender and He delights in you!

  3. Three weeks behind in reading your blog. Where does the time go? I confess with you that God is my deliverer. I live in great expectation and hope of the soon return of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. God’s promise and the hope it inspires in us is what keeps us moving forward. Be blessed.

    1. Ann, I’m days behind in posting, so you’ll have ample opportunity to catch up. πŸ˜‰

      I too live in expectation of Jesus’ return. Without the hope I have in Him, I wouldn’t be able to draw a breath. Praise God for His deliverance, yes? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

