God’s gifts and His call can never be withdrawn

Today’s truth is abundant with love and possibly a great deal of frustration.

I ask myself how the two can co-exist in a sane person, but any parent knows the answer. We love our children so much we would protect them at all costs, but when they won’t go to bed or stop screaming or just get their socks and shoes on, frustration lives with and maybe equals the love we feel.

… Maybe that’s just me. And it’s been a long time since someone accused me of sanity.

Managers, supervisors, caretakers, and anyone else in a position of authority can also understand the pride and frustration that come with grooming someone, taking care of them, teaching them, investing in them, and then watching them wilt away. Not using their training or their gifts. Not responding to encouragement or direction. I wonder if God feels that way sometimes as He watches us.

Romans 11:29 says God’s gifts and His call can never be withdrawn. Part of me is comforted by this truth. It means I can’t ruin what He’s called me to do. I can’t fail if I trust Him and follow Him. Another part of me is frustrated by this refusal to let me off the hook.

What if I can’t do it? What if I don’t want to do it? What if I do it badly? Surely there is someone else on the face of this earth who is more capable and better equipped. Ultimately, every argument stems from fear. I have to ask myself – again – if I want to live in fear or live in faith.

God’s gifts and His call can never be withdrawn.

So I confess my fear and my reluctance, and I ask Him to empower me. I plead for courage and His Spirit to guide me and speak through me. As I move forward, I realize the truth. God’s gifts and His call can never be withdrawn. And I’m grateful that He was faithful and wouldn’t let me off the hook.

What are your God-given gifts?

2 thoughts on “God’s gifts and His call can never be withdrawn

  1. I absolutely love this confession. It’s so relevant to me right now and really challenges me.

    It amazes me how much I live my life in fear sometimes. God has equipped me, yes. God has called me, yes. God has made a path and purpose for me, yes. So why do I continuously second guess Him and withdraw from His love? You said it–fear. This is something I definitely need to work on.

    I’ll be chewing on this confession for a while. Thanks for sharing.

    1. Lol. I’ll have to chew on it for quite awhile too, Jennifer. Fear has been so much a part of my life for so long that I have to beat it back with a nine-foot pole most days. Second guessing His call on my life – and taking His blessings with a grain of salt – is so contrary to His nature that I have to repent and focus on who He is. Who am I to say God’s gifts, His call, and His blessings have to be tempered with something bad??

Leave a Reply

