I will not be ashamed of using my authority

Have you ever tried using your authority and been laughed at? With two littles running everywhere, it happens to me all the time. And as a Christian, it seems to be happening more often than ever before.

This weekend, my God-given authority was challenged when a couple of girls came to my door to talk about the Scriptures. Jehovah’s Witnesses, they knew how to debate any point in the Bible. The problem is that they don’t use the same Bible I use (right now, I’m reading the New Living Translation, but I love the New King James also). They hold to the belief that Jesus is not God, that God is separate from the Holy Spirit, and that Jesus is actually a created being.

DANGER. It actually pained me to hear their beliefs. We agreed to search the Scriptures and talk again later. I’m busy researching, collecting, and cross-referencing, but I will have to rely on an anointing by the Holy Spirit if and when these girls return. I need to use my authority without fear.

I love Paul’s confession to the Corinthian church because it acknowledges the authority God gives us to speak in truth, to lead others in truth, and to live in truth. 2 Corinthians 10:8 says, “… our authority builds you up; it doesn’t tear you down. So I will not be ashamed of using my authority.”

I will not be ashamed of using my authority.

Whenever anyone questions our faith, we need to be ready to explain it in the hope of planting or watering a seed that will lead them to eternal life in Jesus. That kind of authority builds people up, and spoken by the Holy Spirit it demands attention, not laughter.

Whose authority are you using? What is the response when you use it?

Leave a Reply

