Thankfulness is God’s will for me

When I was a little girl, I wanted to be a teacher when I grew up. What better job? I’d get to write on the chalkboard and go out for recess every day.

A little later, I wanted to be a journalist. Then I got a position on my high school newspaper and realized reporting wasn’t my strongest trait. After that came best-selling author. (Okay, that’s still what I want to be when I grow up.) And still later, I wanted to be a wife and a mom.

I didn’t stop to ask God what His will for my life included, though that was implied. My ambitions never strayed from serving Him. But it wasn’t until I actually asked Him what He wanted for me that I began to realize the truth. I can do anything through Jesus Christ who strengthens me, and His will for me is thankfulness in all circumstances. That’s powerful when we think about all this life puts us through.

We’ve confessed thankfulness in all circumstances before, but it clearly bears repeating because it’s in the Bible more than once. 1 Thessalonians 5:18 also follows it up with a beautiful, motivating reason. “Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.”

Thankfulness is God’s will for me.

No matter what profession I claim or where I look for God’s will, there are plenty of reasons to grumble. No chalkboards and shorter recesses or screaming littles and a too-tight budget, God’s will concerns the state of our hearts.

Thanksgiving shouldn’t be something we celebrate one day a year. It should be an attitude we carry everywhere, all the time, and in all circumstances. It doesn’t say to be thankful for everything, but in everything. There is a glimmer of God in every situation, and more so if we thank Him for what He’s doing through it.

How are you thanking God for the circumstances in your life?

Leave a Reply

