I will burst out in songs of thanksgiving

‘Burst’ is a fun word, isn’t it? When I was a kid in the school cafeteria, I sat two tables away from someone who burst out laughing – with milk in his mouth. Guess how far the milk flew? Yep, I got sprayed with his delight.

In junior high school, my best friend thought it would be cool to drink from the spray nozzle on her kitchen sink. She pulled it out of the faucet, wrapped her lips around it, and pressed the trigger. Water burst from her nose. (I’m still laughing about that.)

Wouldn’t it be awesome if we burst our thanksgiving the way various liquids burst from our oral cavities when we’re being ridiculous kids? Based on Psalm 28:7, I’m practicing that today. “The Lord is my strength and shield. I trust him with all my heart. He helps me, and my heart is filled with joy. I burst out in songs of thanksgiving.”

I will burst out in songs of thanksgiving!

Burst. As I do it, I get some interesting looks from strangers, but it’s the joy in my heart and the reaction from God that makes this worthwhile. Don’t know any songs? Try looking in the Psalms for inspiration, or start Christmas caroling early. Many of our favorite carols started as songs of praise and worship of our Savior. Or go back to your childhood and sing to your heart’s content. This Little Light of Mine, Jesus Loves Me, Father Abraham. Before you know it, strangers will be sending you interesting looks, too. And you might just inspire someone else to burst.

What songs are you bursting today? Leave a comment and inspire someone!

4 thoughts on “I will burst out in songs of thanksgiving

  1. Thanks, Lynn! I can’t stop singing “I will enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart, I will enter his courts with praise!” What a good feeling, huh? Be blessed today, and have a fantastic Thanksgiving. 🙂

  2. What a great post! I like bursting out in song and it’s way more fun than bursting pipes lol WE all have so much to be thankful for everyday and to have a day set aside to remember all our Savior has done for us is really cause to burst forth in song and praise. Hallalujah!

  3. Bursting pipes are no fun, Mom. All the more reason to burst into song. Counteract all the stress with confessions of praise and thanksgiving! Remember to give thanks in all things and with thanksgiving to let your requests be made known to God. That’s when the peace that surpasses all understanding will guard your heart and mind. 😉

Leave a Reply

