I will enter His gates with thanksgiving

Well, come on. Did anyone really expect any other kind of confession for Thanksgiving week?

In spite of the name of the holiday, too often we become overwhelmed with the details and miss the point. How many people are coming to dinner, how much turkey should I make, is the house clean enough, are my kids clean enough, am I clean enough? These are some of the thoughts I have – thoughts that take up way too much room in my little brain and distract me from having a grateful heart. Instead, I’m going to start the week declaring my thanksgiving. “Enter his gates with thanksgiving; go into his courts with praise. Give thanks to him and praise his name.” Psalm 100:4

I will enter His gates with thanksgiving in my heart!

I have so much to be thankful for. Jesus loves me, my children are healthy and strong, my husband is a faithful, hard worker who loves his God and his family, and we have a warm, safe place to sleep at night. This is just the start of my list. I’ll be working on that list all week in an effort to keep a grateful heart. Join me! Find a peaceful place and close your eyes. Repeat it with me: I will enter His gates with thanksgiving in my heart!

What are you giving thanks for this week? I’d love to hear your reasons!

One thought on “I will enter His gates with thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

