Parenting TBI, book update, and a confession

Anna and toys promoAnyone else out there feel like parenting gave them a TBI?

According to www.traumaticbraininjury.com, mild TBI includes symptoms such as headache, difficulty thinking, memory problems, attention deficits, mood swings, and frustration. Hello? I lost my train of thought three times just writing that list. Ask anyone in my family and they will testify that my mood swings are d.a.n.g.e.r.o.u.s. y’all.

Kidding aside, parenting is traumatic. We live in a society and an age where our kiddos are perpetually bombarded with images, voices, and influences that threaten to drag them off the course we want to set for them. Maybe that’s been the scenario for decades, but I do believe as the days shorten (Matthew 24:22), the threat intensifies. Marijuana shops abound in my city; family television regularly carries messages that fly in the face of biblical Christianity; the internet is a ready distraction with pit holes seemingly at the end of every dot com. Parents have to be on guard and extremely proactive in helping their children choose wisely at all times. A tough calling, no?

WHAT’S HAPPENING

My current project is the second Psalms for Moms devotional. I have the cover mock-up and the psalms written, but my goal is to format this one for kindle as well as print. Lots of moms indicated that print was the only format they would choose in spite of the higher price. Still, I want to offer the kindle version at a lower price with the option of downloading coloring pages from my website. If you have an opinion on that subject, please let me know! Email me at shelley [at] shelleyring dot org.

A few of you have asked: will I EVER write fiction again? The answer is a resounding, “Yes!” I’m excited to add to Rebecca and Micah’s story, which started in Ransomed. Of course there are many other stories bouncing around in my ADD brain (including a yummy hero with a true brain injury and his heroine, a brokenhearted woman who has to risk her emotional detachment to save him from an unknown enemy), and if I can figure out how to keep my kiddos velcroed to the wall I will have time and energy to tackle them all. (It’s that littlest one. She’s smart and determined!) Before I can turn my attention to those, though, I must complete the Psalms devotionals. My (somewhat flexible) timeline aims to have them all completed by mid-December.

I’m also working to iron out my web presence. For now, you will still see me here on a WordPress blog, but one of these days your updates will come from a dedicated website. One thing at a time, right?

CONFESSION

What am I confessing these days? Pretty much any biblical promise I can pinpoint, but Isaiah 41:10 sits on my mirror and I’ve begun to see it with new eyes. “Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

It’s that line, “For I am your God,” that continues to draw my attention. We don’t serve a god of wood or stone, gang. We don’t tell our God what to do. We don’t depend on His good humor or favor or the weather before we can come to Him. He is the same yesterday, today, and tomorrow, and He invites us into His presence. Our every concern is His priority. We serve the God who neither sleeps nor slumbers. So when He says, “Be not dismayed for I am your God,” that carries great weight. We can count on Him to strengthen us, to help us, to uphold us, to do what is absolutely right for us to His great glory. I hope that confession carries you through whatever challenges you’re facing today.

I’d love to hear from you. Get in touch with me through Facebook (www.facebook.com/shelleyringauthor) or email (shelley [at] shelleyring dot org) or here. Until then –

Friends,

Shelley

Leave a Reply

