I will call on the name of the Lord

I’m a strong believer that faith in God is far-reaching. Farther than we can begin to comprehend, in fact. I’ve talked to so many people who seem to believe that God’s help is limited to the spiritual realm. Salvation, grace, mercy, all that intangible stuff.

I disagree.

The Psalms are full of confessions that God saves, that He is a very present help in time of trouble, that He watches over us. While we put our trust in Him for the afterlife, not many of us put our trust in Him for THIS life. And we get caught up in bad decisions or poor thinking that seems to rule every earthly action. (I’m so talking to myself here.)

Negativity and depression want to rule my life. Wallowing in poor decisions of the past, I’m in danger of missing the glory and power He has for me today. What a perfect time to give those decisions, mistakes, and regrets to Him! Today’s confession, from Joel 2:32 and Romans 10:13, relieves me of the guilt and shame of the past.

I will call on the name of the Lord.

When I doubt His promise to deliver me, I will confess this truth. And I’ll turn to Psalm 121 for reinforcement. Especially meaningful to me is verse 5: “The Lord himself watches over you! The Lord stands beside you as your protective shade.” It gives me visions of being hidden in His shadow. The enemy passes right by, never even seeing me, because the Lord hides me in a protective shade.

I will call on the name of the Lord today. I will not fear because He stands beside me.

Do you believe God’s help is limited to spiritual things, or does He ever intervene in a tangible way?

 

12 thoughts on “I will call on the name of the Lord

  1. I completely agree with you! I have seen God’s hand in my life in so many tangible ways (physical healing, answered prayers for work, etc.) that I can not deny that He intervenes.

    1. I love hearing this! Don’t you think it’s important to confess the wonderful things He’s done as much as we confess the truth of the Bible? Keeps us encouraged and focusing on His power. Thank you for reading, and for sharing. πŸ™‚

  2. Absolutely, Shelly! As in Numbers 11:23, we often “box” God into what’s possible or impossible from our mediocre point of view, but God’s arm has NOT lost its power! In us was deposited the same power that raised Jesus from the dead! Be encouraged and know that God is a mighty God. His evidence is seen in the natural or can we not see a world that He created? Organisms, Structures, DNA. Colors. Scents. We get to see and experience it every day. And He provides. Every day. We are powerless over our lives, we don’t have the power to say if we get sick or not. God does. And when we call on His name, we can heal. We can be provided for. God is so good!

    1. Amen and AMEN, Corinna! So often we overlook the physical world or make excuses as to why He did amazing things thousands of years ago, but not today. But I say (actually, the Bible says) we serve the God who is the same yesterday, today, and tomorrow. If He did those things then, He’ll do them today. πŸ™‚ Let’s live in the power of the Holy Spirit!

    1. That’s right, Jennifer. Next time I think He doesn’t have anything to do with His creation, I’ll look outside my window – or I’ll look at my kids. They’re proof that He is intimately involved in our lives. πŸ™‚

  3. i personally feel God is with me, all through me all of the time, as he is with any other person who ask god to live inside of them. his angels are with me and i am guided each day if i only ask

    1. The key is to ask, isn’t it Terry? Too often I get caught up in my own little world and preoccupied with my own thoughts and I forget to ask for His guidance. So glad you feel Him with you! Life is too hard to go through without Jesus. πŸ™‚ Blessings on you!

  4. But you can’t keep putting yourself last, Terry. As his caretaker, you must take care of yourself. Be as kind to yourself as you are to your brother, and ask the Lord for deliverance. He’s done it for you before! And He wants to be your rescuer. Hugs to you, dear one. Fight the good fight. ❀

  5. “Wallowing in poor decisions of the past, I’m in danger of missing the glory and power He has for me today.” oooo, love that. Been there a few times.

    1. Thanks, Chrystal. Sadly, I think it’s a sentiment too many people can identify with. The good news is that God’s mercies are new every morning and we can begin living in His power and glory!

Leave a Reply

