The Lord my God is a merciful God

Mighty. Merciful. Majestic. Miracles. Music. Mountains. Messiah.

Tonight, my husband and I enter sleepless night forty-two with the littlest little. I’m exaggerating, but only because I lost count how many nights we’ve been up. I pray for God to perform a mighty miracle and be a supernatural tranquilizer for her. (As I write this, it’s after 10PM and she’s delaying sleep by giving me another ‘M’ word I could be thankful for. “Here, Mom. I have a message for you.” So far she’s given me five messages. Pretend slips of paper that she pushes into my hand with a knowing, but sincere, smile. Maybe the Lord will speak to her and she will be His voice, giving messages to people all over as she grows. Yeah. I’m tired. Work with me.) Joshua 24:17: “For the LORD our God is the one who rescued us and our ancestors from slavery in the land of Egypt. He performed mighty miracles before our very eyes. As we traveled through the wilderness among our enemies, he preserved us.”

I believe in miracles. I do. It’s just been a long time since I saw one in the form of my children sleeping peacefully all night.

I know we’re not alone in our struggles. Not just that God carries us, but that others walk through so many hardships – and many that are much more devastating than mine. I can’t forget the heart-wrenching sorrow of a friend who can only wish her son was still alive to keep her awake at night. When I think of all those who have pain far deeper than mine, I pray for God’s mercy to be upon them, for His majesty to surround them, and for the Messiah to be present with them. I pray that He would move mountains and reveal Himself.

In light of that, today’s confession calls on the mercy of God. Deuteronomy 4:31: “For the LORD your God is a merciful God; he will not abandon you or destroy you or forget the solemn covenant he made with your ancestors.”

The Lord my God is a merciful God.

There are times it feels like this world will destroy me. I know people think they’ve been abandoned by God, that He forgot His promises. If that’s you tonight, please know what the Bible, His Holy word, says. He is merciful. He will not abandon you or destroy you or forget His promises. Confess the truth and rest. The Lord my God is a merciful God.

Do you feel abandoned, destroyed, or forgotten?

Leave a Reply

