The Lord speaks to me

As with every other confession in the alphabet, I could post one truth after another using ‘L’:

  • Lord of lords (Deuteronomy 10:17)
  • Love (1 Corinthians 13)
  • Lasting (Psalm 19:9)
  • Lion of the tribe of Judah (Revelation 5:5)
  • Life (John 14:6)
  • Light (Psalm 27:1)

But in considering today’s confession, I came across a blog post by Bird Martin that resonated with me. The reason goes back to the message my pastor gave in church on Sunday. In short, he encouraged us all to confess to someone we trust all of our addictions, issues, holdups. Anything that puts up a wall between us and Jesus. I cringed, having dealt quietly with something for several days.

Okay, I’ve been dealing with it for years. But quietly. I don’t go around advertising it. No, it’s not fear, though Bird’s prayer at the end of her post mentions doubt and fear. But my problem might well be the root issue to this fear. So (breathing, praying, breathing), here’s the advertisement:

I’m a terribly proud, vain person. Don’t judge me, please. Just hear me out, and see how today’s confession and Bird’s post relates.

It’s entirely possible that my fear issues stem from my pride. I don’t want to be found lacking, so I puff myself up and convince myself that I don’t need anyone’s approval. I’m a good writer. (Actually, as long as I’m airing my pride here, I’ll go ahead and say I’m a fabulous writer.) I’m a decent mom. GREAT housekeeper and cook. My list of highly rated qualities goes on and on. Of course, it wouldn’t do to have everyone know that I have a pride issue, so I pretend I’m humble. Isn’t that the good Christian thing to appear?

God is so good to continue speaking to me in spite of my arrogance. What He spoke today comes from Job 38. The first line nails me: “Then the Lord answered Job from the whirlwind.”

In the whirlwind of my pride and conceit, God answers me. So today’s confession reminds me:

The Lord speaks to me.

The rest of Job 38 tells of God challenging a suffering, yet arrogant, Job. It goes through all that God has done and the endless depth of His knowledge and wisdom. I’m marking this section of Scripture and reading it every day. And in the reading, I will give thanks that the Lord speaks to me.

What is the Lord speaking to you?

9 thoughts on “The Lord speaks to me

    1. How exciting for you, Jennifer! I guess that means you’ll be busy, huh? Care to tell us what your future (or current) calling is? Blessings as you start this new phase!

      1. Haha. πŸ™‚
        It pertains to the next book/books He is calling me to write! I heard Him the other day say, “It’s time to start your next book.” I only told my husband about it. Today, a friend told me she sensed the Lord was calling me to write more books!! Amazing. πŸ™‚ Thanks for asking!

  1. What I find the most amazing result of confessing our weaknesses and addictions, etc., is just how much they seem to lose their power over us the minute we tell someone. And I know in my family, nine times out of ten,it was no great surprise to any of them that I was struggling with that particular sin. Pride is a pretty common one for people who are high achievers…I can feel pride in something one minute, and feel like the lowest of the low the next. God is good at keeping mine in check. But I have a cousin who literally seems to do every single thing in her life and walk with the Lord perfectly…except for her pride. But her pride and my laundry list of imperfections aren’t what matters here. What matters is that we are all still running with endurance the race…Don’t give up. Forgive your self. Keep trying to jump the hurdle… I liked this article very much, and kudos for confessing something that we all would rather hide away… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

