Blessed be the name of the Lord

Day two of my alphabet of affirmations, and I’m forced to choose again. It’s a difficult position to be in. How do I decide between confessing my own blessing, salvation by the blood of the Lamb, God’s bountiful work on my behalf, and His glorious beauty? Let’s not forget to bless the name of the Lord.

I can’t do it. I can’t choose just one of these, well, beautiful affirmations. We might have to begin confessing multiple truths a day while we go through the alphabet, people. Don’t complain. There are worse things – like not recognizing the abundant nature of our God and His love for us.

One of the things I love about searching for an affirmation and confessing it all day is the song God puts in my head as a result. I’ve had two of them lilting through today, keeping my perspective and attitude where they should be. (As I write this, He puts another into my head. How awesome is He!)

Chris Tomlin’s version of Blessed Be Your Name. This comes from Psalm 113:2: “Blessed be the name of the Lord now and forever.”

And this song by the David Crowder Band. “You make everything glorious, and I am yours. What does that make me?” Ecclesiastes 3:11 in The New Living Translation says, “Yet God made everything beautiful for its own time.”

I love this version of Jeremy Camp singing Beautiful One. “Beautiful one I love. Beautiful one I adore. Beautiful one, my soul must sing.”

You can’t go wrong with any of these confessions. For myself, I’ll be blessing the name of the Lord, and maybe doing it in song if no one is listening. Care to join me?

Blessed be the name of the Lord now and forever.

I’ve heard it said that I can’t outgive God. Does that mean if I bless His name, He’ll bless me more and more? Possibly. Deuteronomy 28:1-14 spells it out. But that’s not why I’ll do it. I will bless His name because He is worthy of blessing. And if I happen to get through the day without fear, well, that’s just a BONUS.

What is your favorite song to bless His name?

One thought on “Blessed be the name of the Lord

Leave a Reply

