He sets my feet on solid ground

When I was pregnant with the biggest little, I worked for a publishing company. It was nearly my dream job (not counting the best-selling author dream), and I knew everything would change when the baby came. Would I go back to work after maternity leave? Would I work full-time? How could I manage work AND a baby?

God continued to reassure me in those days. I remember walking up the stairs to my department floor and looking down at my growing belly. I felt Him telling me to trust Him, that He would plant my footsteps even if I didn’t know what I was doing. What a relief! And after the baby was born, I did indeed need Him to plant my footsteps. As if everything else wasn’t enough, postpartum depression hit hard. I turned to my Bible and prayer to get through those frightening, bittersweet days. This is just one of the pieces of Scripture I relied on:

“I waited patiently for the Lord to help me, and he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the pit of despair, out of the mud and the mire. He set my feet on solid ground and steadied me as I walked along.” Psalm 40:1-2

What comfort to read that the Lord turned to me. I picture a loving, compassionate Savior opening His arms, offering solace and rest from the confusion. For months, I imagined Him actually planting my feet on solid ground and keeping me steady. I still picture that, especially when life looks a little too chaotic for my comfort. (That would be almost an hourly basis!)

This weekend I began chipping away at my fear issues, which brings back the need to realize how He sets my feet on solid ground. Even when I don’t know where I’m stepping or where I’m going, He knows.

He sets my feet on solid ground.

As I pursue potential leads and opportunities, I will come up against all manner of opposition. Fear is just the beginning. But He sets my feet on solid ground. Isn’t that what He’s been trying to tell me all along?

Where are your feet planted?

Leave a Reply

