I will find grace when I need it most

Every day that passes convinces me more that this life is not easy (perhaps not meant to be easy), and then I read a beautiful blog post that puts it all into perspective. Check out this post by Beth Vogt for a dose of fresh insight today. It really blessed me. And stay tuned next week for a guest post by Beth. Can’t wait for that!

Today I want to propel myself – and everyone else – into the weekend with one more powerful thought on God’s grace. It comes at an especially challenging time for me, which makes it all the sweeter. My dear husband continues to fight the battle in repairing his knee, and my littles fight battles against each other and me. For an overly sensitive girl, it can be difficult to push past their emotions and remember my place in the kingdom. That’s one reason I’m so thankful for my Bible. It reminds me of God’s grace.

I’m starting to equate grace with strength. Yes, it means free and unmerited favor, but if God’s favor doesn’t give me strength then nothing will. “So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most.”

Hebrews 4:16 tells us to come boldly to the very throne of God, not with heads hung low and fearful. What greatness is it that allows the created to approach with assurance and confidence the Creator? Only our God. I read this and realize that He hears my prayers. He sees my situation. He offers grace and strength to continue serving Him in spite of appearances.

I will find grace when I need it most.

With prayer, my husband will heal. By God’s grace, my littles will outgrow this stage of defiance and sibling rivalry. And by His grace, I will be strong and continue serving them in His name.

Whatever your situation looks like today, approach the throne boldly, with reverence and belief in His love for you. Ask for the things you need. Trust that He hears you. Then go share His grace with someone else in need.

What does grace look like to you?

 

4 thoughts on “I will find grace when I need it most

  1. I know it seems I am always growing more when I am in the trenches so to speak. It’s awful pleasant just to walk through green pastures and smell the flowers but it usually makes me sleepy and I want to take a nap in the warm sun. My wife and I are particularly struggling right now in balancing grace and love with discipline in response to a difficult family situation. God Bless I will be praying for you, your husbands recovery and the wee people that live with you guys.

    1. Thank you so much for your prayers, Vernon. I covet them! My little family is blessed in abundance, even when it looks like we’re barely hanging on. I also find that I grow when I’m in the trenches, but those sunny meadows are something to look forward to. Love and discipline might seem at odds until we realize (more like, until the ones we’re disciplining realize) that we discipline the ones we love just as God disciplines the ones He loves. We serve a glorious Master who provides everything we need! Know that your family is in my prayers as well.

Leave a Reply

