God chose me and called me by his marvelous grace

I love this grace thing so much I’m going to do another post or two about it. It just takes that much hitting me over the head to get it to sink in. 😉

If you haven’t already looked through your Bible for the frequency of the word ‘grace’, I encourage you to do it. I like to use BibleGateway.com because I can look through any translation and it gives the verses as well as surrounding text. Pretty handy when I don’t have a concordance laying around. Click here for a keyword search on grace in the New Living Translation.

What I find when I look for grace is the incredible number of times it’s there:

May God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ give you grace and peace (Romans 1:7).

May the grace of our Lord Jesus be with you (Romans 16:20, 1 Corinthians 16:23, 1 Thessalonians 5:28).

Even before I was born, God chose me and called me by his marvelous grace (Galatians 1:15).

I do not treat the grace of God as meaningless (Galatians 2:21).

So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most (Hebrews 4:16).

Choose any of these to confess daily, but today I choose Galatians 1:15.

Even before I was born, God chose me and called me by His marvelous grace.

Remember the first post this week on grace? It broke down the meaning of the word. If I want to know that my life has value and meaning, if I want to live empowered and free of fear, I need only to realize how much the God of the universe loves me and how He desires to see me live in Him. Even before I was born, He chose me and called me by His marvelous unmerited, unearned, unconditional favor. Pair that with yesterday’s truth: His grace, or His favor, is all I need. It’s beginning to take hold, this idea that I don’t need to fear all these things. That I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Say it with me today, and let it take hold in your mind: God chose me and called me by his marvelous grace.

Is it sinking in for you? Do you believe that God’s grace is the sweetest, most powerful force in your life?

Leave a Reply

