God answers my prayer

It’s a rare Saturday confession, people. (I hope it’s NOT rare to be confessing the truth on Saturday! Rather, hearing from me on a Saturday is not common ;). ) But I had to share this little bit while it’s still fresh.

Yesterday’s post asked if I was diluting the meaning and power of God’s word with my confessions. Reading another blogger’s post had me questioning. I know I can sound flip and sarcastic at times, but I hope to never take that attitude with the Bible or in sharing the truth with others. My purpose in ‘Fraidy Cat Confessions is to overcome fear and everything else that minimizes God’s power and truth in our lives. I do that by reminding myself of what God says, and the more senses I can incorporate the better. So I read it, think it, write it, say it, and by saying it I hear it. Over and over.

As I struggled with concern yesterday, I prayed for God’s voice to be clear, to tell me His thoughts on the matter. When I had peace I opened my Bible for my regular reading and found this:

“As for you, Titus, promote the kind of living that reflects wholesome teaching. Teach the older men to exercise self-control, to be worthy of respect, and to live wisely. They must have sound faith and be filled with love and patience. Similarly, teach the older women to live in a way that honors God. They must not slander others or be heavy drinkers. Instead, they should teach others what is good. These older women must train the younger women to love their husbands and their children, to live wisely and be pure, to work in their homes, to do good, and to be submissive to their husbands. Then they will not bring shame on the word of God.” Titus 2:1-5 (NLT)

Sweet words that not only fed my spirit, but answered my call for God’s voice to be clear. And a few of you readers responded, too. That was confirmation. Thank you for sounding off!

But none of that is today’s confession. All this only illustrates today’s truth. Have you ever prayed and sat still, quiet, waiting for God to answer? Only to hear the sound of your own breathing, crickets chirping, the neighbor’s car door slamming? I’ve been there many times. Yet, the Bible says God answers our prayers! See Joshua 10:14, Judges 13:9, 1 Samuel 7:9, and Psalm 65:2 for just a few examples. Psalm 3:4 says, “I cried out to the Lord, and he answered me from his holy mountain.”

I cry out to the Lord, and he answers me from his holy mountain.

If you can’t remember God ever answering your prayer, I urge you to read your Bible. He often answers in the depths of those pages. Pay attention to the kind and loving words of the people around you. He might use their mouths to bring the wisdom you’re seeking. Whatever you do, keep praying and work at listening for Him. Then write it down! Too many times I go on my merry way only to complain later that He never answers my cries. Today I will record this in my Bible and remember His answer. I will confess the truth.

I cry out to the Lord, and he answers me from his holy mountain.

How do you remember the Lord’s answer to your prayer?

5 thoughts on “God answers my prayer

  1. I’ve read over a lot of your posts and starting crying. So much of what you say resonates with me. I, too, think about, pray about, struggle with so many of the same thoughts. That’s why I starting writing my blog in January…I’ve journaled for many years and felt I was supposed to share some of it. You are an affirmation to me…I look forward to reading more from you.

    1. Ah, Chrystal, thank you. I’m glad you’re finding your way through this thing called life. It’s not easy, is it? I find if I take even a day away from God and His promises, I lose my perspective and my footing. I can’t wait to learn more about you through your blog and perhaps an email or two! 😉 Get in touch anytime you’d like. We can remind each other of His amazing love and care for us. Blessings on you today!

    1. Thank you so much! I’d love to hear your thoughts on the stories and answer any questions. (And you’ve blessed me by stopping by and leaving your comments, so thanks for that, too.) 🙂

  2. Wow. I’m such a great salesperson that I completely forgot to mention where you can find Forsaken. Lol. It’s available on all ereaders, and as soon as I get the go-ahead from my editor, Ransomed will be available as well. I hope to offer both books in paperback soon, too!

Leave a comment