I have a God-proclaimed purpose

When I was little, I wanted to be a teacher or a writer. As young as I can remember, I loved the feel of a newly sharpened pencil between my fingers. Attendance books, bulletin boards, construction paper. The school supply aisle was the eighth wonder of the world. Chalkboards, lined paper, pens, and NEW BOOKS. Have you ever smelled a new book? Now that’s something to behold.

As I got older and discovered the power of story, I felt drawn to the world of fiction. Telling a good story is just as transporting as reading one. There are a few differences, though: it takes longer to write a story so I can enjoy it more; I know the characters more intimately than if I simply read about them; and I get to decide their purpose – the end of the story.

As my Creator and the Author of life, God proclaimed His purposes for me long ago. Did He plan for me to be a teacher or a writer? Or something else entirely? Fear tries to edge in, convince me that I couldn’t possibly become anything worthy. It tells me that I’ll fail in everything I attempt.

But could it be that what I do as a profession is beside the point? Isaiah 44:8 gives me some clue. “Do not tremble; do not be afraid. Did I not proclaim my purposes for you long ago? You are my witnesses – is there any other God? No! There is no other Rock – not one!”

I have a God-proclaimed purpose.

His purpose for me – for all His creation – is to be His witness. There is no other God, no other Rock. How we choose to witness to the world might be irrelevant as long as it brings Him glory. Knowing this, I can move forward in my chosen profession – fiction writing – without fear.

How are YOU fulfilling your God-proclaimed purpose?

One thought on “I have a God-proclaimed purpose

Leave a Reply

