I will not be afraid because God is with me

My husband has surgery today. Fear threatens to crash down my door and hold me hostage for the next several hours.

It’s a fairly minor operation to repair damage in his knee, but he will have general anesthesia. That always makes me nervous. Significant recovery time can have its pros and cons. It includes lots of pain killers, drugs and otherwise, and six weeks of no weight on his leg. My husband is a very active man. This, too, makes me nervous. How will he handle being on crutches for six weeks? No work? Going up the stairs backwards and not playing with the littles?

Before I can even comprehend his recovery time and my role in it, I have to get through the 90 minute operation, beating back fear and reminding myself that I will not be afraid.

I will not be afraid because God is with me.

The Bible says it everywhere. (See Deuteronomy 31:6, Joshua 1:9, and Psalm 23:4 to start.) Isaiah 41:10 has long been one of my favorite verses. The New King James version puts it this way: “Fear not, for I am with you. Be not dismayed for I am your God. I will strengthen you, yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.”

Just as comforting is the knowledge that God is with my husband and, therefore, with the surgeon. I have no reason to fear the operation itself or the time after. God is with us! I say it again, out loud so I can absorb it with all my senses. And if I get a few curious glances in the waiting room this afternoon, I’ll encourage others to confess the truth, too! I will not be afraid because God is with me.

What is your favorite verse in Scripture?

2 thoughts on “I will not be afraid because God is with me

Leave a Reply

