I will be kind

Mornings are not my best times, but they’re hard to avoid with two small children. Children who are A.W.A.K.E. before 7am. Children who jump and scream and turn on all the water faucets as soon as their eyes open. Children who want to eat immediately. Mornings – in the best of circumstances – make me grumpy.

Today’s confession is probably a repeat, but I find it necessary in some cases. Mornings being one of them.

I will be kind.

Lots of people know the part of scripture that says, “Love is patient and kind, love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude” (1 Corinthians 13:4). And a lot of people correctly substitute Jesus’ name in place of the word ‘love.’ Jesus is patient and kind. Jesus is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. But how often do we associate these words with our own actions?

Today, when my littles spray water on the dog and on each other, when they refuse to eat what I’ve prepared for them (what they’ve ASKED for), and when they run from me with something I desperately need, I will say today’s confession in my head. Then I will say it out loud. I will be kind because love is kind, because Jesus is kind, and because it’s good for my spirit. And after I say it out loud, I will chase my littles down and…

I will hug them.

What will you do today?

6 thoughts on “I will be kind

  1. It is so great to read your espousal of these events and their effect on your life. My kids are a little older but I can completely relate. And unfortunately inform you that the early morning aggitations continue well into the foreseeable future 🙂

  2. Lol. Thanks for the encouragement, Shawn! I can only pray that mornings become my friend. 😉 I’m sure when they’re teenagers and sleeping past noon that I’ll look back and wish for these times with them. I think.

  3. This is something I have to work on daily as well, Shelley! I try to remind myself every day that I reflect God to my kids. If I want them to know that God is loving, kind, patient, ect. then I need to be those things to them so that they can grasp that truth more readily. Of course, it is easier said than done as we all know! I just try to remember what God has done for me through Christ. But thank you for posting this. It’s a great reminder and also great to know that I’m not alone!

    1. You’re so right, Laura. I have to show them God’s kind and loving nature the best that I can. I know I fall short often, but praise God because He’s always there and His love never fails. As someone else commented awhile back, we can’t be perfect moms. But we can show them love and teach them the truth! (And as Regular Joe said, we can spray them with water once in awhile. Lol.)

  4. And I thought you were going to say at the end……spray them with water. I guess that shows something about myself instead. My little boys are now 33 and 35 and I still need to spray them with water now and then.

  5. Lol, Vernon! I like the way you think. Now that the thought is there, I might have to spray them occasionally. I’ll wait for warmer weather, though, because they’re likely to retaliate. 😉

Leave a Reply

