The Lord protects all those who love Him

Several months ago, my husband and I watched the movie Inception with Leonardo DiCaprio. To put it simply, his character lives in a perpetual dream state. Once he seems to be awake, he wonders if he’s truly awake because his dreams were so real. It’s a fascinating movie that really messed with my mind for a few days because I dream very vividly and it seems to be a constant condition. Unfortunately, my dreams are rarely happy.

Last night’s dream was no exception. I woke in the dark, clutching the blankets and my husband’s arm, tears streaming, dragging in deep breaths like a woman starved for air. Only I was starving for reality. Today’s confession brings comfort because I know it is the truth.

The Lord protects all those who love Him.

This is taken straight from Psalm 145:20. It was tempting to make the confession, “The Lord protects me,” and He does, but I need to know that He protects all those who love Him (emphasis mine). My biggest fears involve harm to the ones I love, but if I can place them in God’s hands and trust that they have a relationship with Him, I can rest in the certainty that He will protect them far better than I can. In doing that, He protects me from destruction. I just have to trust Him.

That’s a tall order some days, trust. For that reason, I will speak this truth into my life today. I will speak it into the lives of the ones I love. The Lord protects my husband who loves Him. The Lord protects my children who love him. The Lord protects me.

What are your biggest fears?

 

One thought on “The Lord protects all those who love Him

Leave a Reply

