I will eat what is good

Today’s confession is especially timely because I’m starting a new food plan tomorrow. It involves cutting out sugar and unnecessary carbs. No soda. No brownies. No cake or chocolate kisses. No chips, pasta, or potatoes. Difficult? I expect to be climbing walls by evening. Sugar and pasta are my friends!

But the Bible talks about more important food and drink. Isaiah 55:1-2 says, “Is anyone thirsty? Come and drink – even if you have no money! Come, take your choice of wine or milk – it’s all free! Why spend your money on food that does not give you strength? Why pay for food that does you no good? Listen to me, and you will eat what is good. You will enjoy the finest food.”

God invites us to share in the finest food and drink even if we have no money. Only a generous and kind God would offer something so rich and beyond my expectations. Of course, He’s talking about so much more than earthly food and drink. He’s talking about salvation. Jesus is the living water and the bread of life. Sounds like a feast to me!

I will eat what is good.

As I work to clean up my earthly menu, I will focus on God’s offer to eat what is good – the finest food. I will feast from the table He prepares for me in the Word and in prayer. Will you join me?

(I also want to point out that if you’re interested in another devotional blog, check out http://5gsandacupofjoe.wordpress.com/ This is a fantastic site I discovered last week, and this Regular Joe’s words of insight have blessed me. I hope you pop over and find a blessing too.)

How are your spiritual and earthly eating habits? Could you use a fresh dose of God’s finest food?

3 thoughts on “I will eat what is good

  1. Thanks for the link to my blog. I really enjoyed your post today. I always find it amazing the depth of Gods word. You can read the same passage over and over and the Holy Spirit can apply it in so many ways. Our two blog posts on Isiah are just one example of that!. Have a great day! God Bless

  2. Hey Vernon! Thanks for looking for me. Yes, things are way too busy these days, but I love knowing that someone actually reads my blog ;). Just as I was praying, “Lord, what would you have me do today?” I got your comment. So there was the answer, and a new post went up thanks to God! Be blessed today, friend.

Leave a Reply

