I will rejoice

I hate resolutions. They’re counter productive and they make me feel like a mess.

But this year, in keeping with my no-fear mindset, I resolved to have a resolution. Just one because there’s no need to stress myself out, right? Besides working on ‘fraidy cat issues, there’s a lot I’d like to accomplish this year: publishing my books, writing a new book, continuing my blog, home improvements, better organization, a sense of humor. Yeah. Just one resolution because this list is stressful.

A few days earlier, my husband and I realized that in this very chaotic time of our lives, we need to work on having a sense of humor. Some people find joy an easy state to achieve. They laugh all day and find something funny in everything. Let’s get one thing straight. That. Person. Is. Not. Me.

So is it sad that I skipped right over sense of humor in my resolution list because it’s just too hard? Much easier to create a list of things to do and get busy. I can cross each job off my list when it’s complete. So satisfying! But it’s not laughter or joy…

Psalm 118:24 says, “This is the day the Lord has made. We will rejoice and be glad in it.” That’s so decisive. I love it. There is another piece of Scripture that comforts my heart and speaks to me in a more personal way. “I will be glad and rejoice in your unfailing love, for you have seen my troubles, and you care about the anguish of my soul.” Maybe that one from Psalm 31:7 speaks to you, too. Knowing that the living God cares about my troubles and loves me makes the world a more bearable place. It makes today’s confession possible.

I will rejoice.

Whatever life (or one of my littles) throws at me today, I will rejoice. It will take time to make this an automatic response, but because of His unfailing love I know it’s possible.

Can you rejoice in spite of your troubles today?

Leave a Reply

