I trust you, O Lord

Today is my biggest little’s birthday. It’s a bittersweet day for me because I remember life before he came to us, and I remember his birth, and I remember too easily the jumble of my mind in the months that followed.

My kids are three of God’s greatest gifts in my life. They shower me with His love and devotion and they give me a reason to press through difficulties. Their smiles and laughter make even the greyest day brighter. While this has been true since I first held them, the months immediately after they were born defy words.

Excruciating. Confusing. Intense fatigue. And fear like I’ve never known. What if something happens to them? What if something happens to ME? Who will take care of them? Will they know and love Jesus? A thousand other terrifying scenarios played through my head every day. Not one of them could I foresee, prevent, or control. It became – and to this day remains – an issue of my trust in God.

As I remember my first days of motherhood, fear tries to wrap itself around my heart and head again. Back then I couldn’t even see clearly enough to turn to the Bible for perspective and truth. But today I can. Psalm 31:14 says, “But I am trusting you, O Lord, saying “You are my God!” And a confession of truth changes the fear in my heart to faith.

I trust you, O Lord.

It takes conscious effort to trust God sometimes. Obedience to willfully turn from what I fear and choose to believe He will take care of my family with love and kindness. But we must turn from what is slowly killing us and embrace the One who loves us.

My prayer is that I gift my children with faith in the living God, that I teach them to turn from fear and embrace Him. It is the best gift I can imagine giving them.

What do you fear? Do you trust God in the midst of it?

 

2 thoughts on “I trust you, O Lord

  1. I think about God’s character, I think about how much he loves me, that he sent Jesus to die on the cross for my sins, so that I could be put right with God. I think about times when God has answered prayer, particularly my prayers during other difficult times for the strength to get through each day. As I think on these things I discover that sometimes it is in difficult times when God has been closest to me, and demonstrated his power, although I often didn’t know it at the time.

    1. You’re so right about God being closest to us when we go through difficult times. I’ve found the same thing myself. What a blessing it is when we can draw near to Him during those times instead of blaming Him and isolating ourselves. Keep speaking the truth! Blessings on you, and thanks for reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

