In peace I will lie down and sleep

I’ve said before that the battleground Christians occupy is the mind. My mind seems to be most vulnerable to attack when I’m tired or even asleep. I dream a lot, and some nights it feels like I haven’t slept at all. My dreams are full of horrific images that last for days. Rarely does a dream repeat, but on occasion I will see the same images several dreams in a row. It makes me afraid to close my eyes.

Other people hesitate to close their eyes for other reasons. Panic attacks, depression, fear and dark thoughts. Whatever the struggle, today’s confession helps me get through the night. More than once, the Bible promises that God watches over us even in sleep. “I lay down and slept, yet I woke up in safety, for the Lord was watching over me” (Psalm 3:5). Then again a few verses later, in Psalm 4:8, David says, “In peace I will lie down and sleep, for you alone, O Lord, will keep me safe.”

What better protection could we have? The God of the universe promises to watch over us in sleep. Knowing that allows me to close my eyes and enjoy not only sleep, but rest. Peace.

In peace I will lie down and sleep.

I was afraid today’s confession would come too late in the day to do any good, but God is gracious even in this. When you lie down at the end of this day, remember His promise and repeat it. Post it on your mirror, on your ceiling, on your pillow. Pray it over yourself and know that the Lord alone keeps you safe.

Do you struggle with peace in your sleep?

Leave a Reply

