I will pray for those in authority

I’m not a very politically minded person. I know. Shame on me. I should pay closer attention to senators, mayors, congressmen, the President… I do give myself credit for knowing the names of the President and Vice President. I know a few names of the current candidates. And on a good day, I know a bit of what they say they stand for. But I don’t know enough. And (this does shame me), I don’t pray for them.

With 2012 being an election year, we’re going to hear a lot about current and potential future leaders. (Going to? We already are!) The good, the bad, the ugly, and the impossible – it will all be covered ad nauseum by the media. Some of this has value, but we should take everything we hear and test it against scripture.

The most important thing we can recognize is our own power and ability to influence the direction of our country. I’m not talking about voting. That definitely is a privilege, but prayer is a responsibility. For that reason and for the sake of our country and world, I hope today’s confession becomes a daily practice for me.

I will pray for those in authority.

Okay, so I should be praying for the President, the Vice President, cabinet members (does that include the congress and the house??), Secretaries of State and Defense, and on and on. But what do I pray for these people?

1 Timothy 2:1-3 says, “I urge you, first of all, to pray for all people. Ask God to help them; intercede on their behalf, and give thanks for them. Pray this way for kings and all who are in authority so that we can live peaceful and quiet lives marked by godliness and dignity.”

I’m so thankful when God answers a prayer immediately! By this, I know how important it is to pray for our leaders “so that we can live peaceful and quiet lives marked by godliness and dignity.” Don’t ever forget the power of your talking to God. He’s listening.

Do you pray for national and world leaders? What are your prayers over them?

One thought on “I will pray for those in authority

  1. Good point, Shelley and I do pray for them from the top down to local. Don’t know all the names but God does and don’t really know what to pray except for His will to be done. Don’t know if that will result in our living peaceful or quiet lives but I do know in these times of not knowing what’s going to happen next I think it’s imperative for us all to pray and put our trust and faith in the One who does know. Thank you for your confessions, they help me to stay focused on the important things in this life ❤

Leave a Reply

