I will speak kind words

Occasionally, I get a glimpse of myself that closely resembles Godzilla. Screaming, gnashing of teeth, breathing fire. I’m sure this is what my littles see when I’ve asked them twelve times to get their socks and shoes on, and that thirteenth time, that most unlucky time, I lose all self-control.

Screaming. Gnashing. Fire. Not pretty.

A friend told me recently about memories of her now deceased mother. They included a few kind moments, but overall she remembered being told how she was trouble, too much work, in the way, and on and on. It affected her for many years. As she told the story, I saw myself and my littles. And I cringe as I write this.

There’s no getting around it. As much as we love them, kids are hard work. And as I admitted yesterday, I am incredibly selfish. The two character traits don’t mix well. Downhearted and quite convicted, I turn to my Bible for some strength and truth. I find this:

It is better to live alone in the corner of an attic than with a quarrelsome wife in a lovely home. Proverbs 25:24

Well, that made me feel much better. My family would be better off living in a very small, dusty, dark space than to live with my meanness. I agree, but I don’t want to be this way. I keep looking.

The tongue can bring death or life. Proverbs 18:21a

I’m on a roll. Seems God it telling me something. Words are a powerful thing, and perhaps I haven’t been using mine the way He desires. One more piece of Scripture seals it:

Kind words are like honey – sweet to the soul and healthy for the body. Proverbs 16:24

Now that’s something I can work with. What kid doesn’t like honey? So, today’s confession is revealed:

I will speak kind words.

This is a beautiful confession for every day, and it’s supported by the other verses in Proverbs 18 and 25. When my biggest little resists instruction, or my littlest little won’t sit still for anything, I will speak kind words. I feel better already.

Can you see yourself in today’s confession?

One thought on “I will speak kind words

  1. Ah, Shelly, my littles are all mostly bigs now … I’ve got an 11-year-old at home, but the other 3 are 20-somethings. Yes, there’s a story there.
    🙂
    Confession is good for the soul. And desiring to speak kind words all the more so.
    Just remember my mommy-mantra: Motherhood: Perfection Not Required.
    Our kids don’t want perfect moms. They do want to know that we love them.
    And kind words show them that.
    (Enjoyed stopping by your blog today. Thanks for being part of the conversation over at In Others’ Words.)

Leave a Reply

