The Lord is my shepherd

Parents have an impossibly hard job, I think. To teach and prepare little ones for life is a daunting task. On the list of daily to-do’s: everything from good manners to good hygiene, from ABCs to 123’s, from stranger danger to kindness and compassion, from discernment to faith matters, and more.

Why didn’t I think of this before having children??

Another thing I didn’t think about was the relentless responsibility involved. For the last few nights, my littles have slept poorly – and so have I. One has a cold, the other has a bad dream. One has a stuffy nose, the other needs a light on. Thirsty, hungry, “I hafta pee,” there’s a monster under the bed. It goes on all night and my down time becomes get-up-again time.

In the haze of parenthood, I want someone to take care of me. I know I’m a terribly vain and selfish creature, but I think a lot of people share this particular desire. It’s a lovely feeling of being cherished and valued when someone sees my needs and offers to meet them. That’s why I find such comfort in Psalm 23. I say it to myself today, and it brings perspective to my life as a momma and a wife and a catch-all queen.

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

When I think about a shepherd, I realize he provides everything his sheep need. Safety, food, a place to sleep, loving care, comfort, and companionship. Really, these are the things I need. They help me get through the endless tasks and do even more. If you’re exhausted today, feeling the effects of relentless life, confess this truth with me: The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

What pieces of scripture bring comfort to your soul?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

