I will be still

There is so much going on in the world.

I meant to post today’s confession early, but life is proving my need for this particular truth. Blogging, Facebook, Twitter, radio, television, CABLE TV all scream for notice. (I think I’m addicted to cable. My husband made me discontinue the service over a year ago and I miss the Hallmark channel desperately!) Internet. Email. Ipods. E-readers. Everywhere I look, someone is shouting from a proverbial rooftop, trying to get their share of the attention.

Someone stop the insanity!

Add to this the general noise of family, work, daily errands, traffic, and anxiety, and it’s a minor miracle that we accomplish anything. We (and by that, I mean myself) rush to cram as much as possible into a day. As I write, the television blares, my biggest little screams, and other family members vie for attention. No wonder I’m overwhelmed. No wonder our children are diagnosed with all manner of unfocused, crazed behavior.

It’s at this point I force myself to turn to the calming influence of God’s word. Psalm 46:10 is a beacon call from God’s heart to our own. “Be still, and know that I am God!” Easier to read than to practice, perhaps, but try saying today’s confession with me.

I will be still.

For today, I will choose to be still and know that God is in control. I will trust in His love and kindness toward me. I will know He is sovereign and the knowing will ease my discomfort. No worrying. No rushing. No cramming. I will be still before Him and know that He is God.

What does it mean to you to be still and know that He is God?

2 thoughts on “I will be still

  1. Just want you to know that your posts of late have been “a word in season” for me and I’m thanking God for you reminding me of what I really do know but somehow seem to forget.

Leave a Reply

