My purpose is to please God, not people

Early confession here, peeps: today’s blog is slightly difficult to write because I’ve been watching Pride and Prejudice like a crazy woman and I want to slip into English prose. In my defense, I’m doing character research and I learn something new each time I watch the movie or read the book. (Yeah! That’s it! Character research sounds plausible.) I so love Darcy’s line in the 1995 version: “She smiles too much.” I have to use that somewhere.

Okay, enough P&P. For now.

Today’s real confession is also difficult because I’ve always been a fearful person. Ironically, I’m more fearful of people than of God. After all, God is kind and forgiving. I’ve hesitated to do things (approach book editors and agents, self-publish, audition for voice over roles, etc.) because people scare me. What will they think? What will they say? Worse, will they be kind to my face and snicker behind my back? Will I fail?

What if I succeed? GASP. There’s such pressure when you’ve succeeded. What are people saying? One time wonder? Accidental hit? She’ll never do it again?

Sigh.

Today’s confession is important for every area of our lives, not just professionally. To write this on our hearts can change the way we speak, the way we form relationships, the way we treat strangers. Indeed, the way we THINK is transformed as we live out this confession. Close your eyes and say it out loud with me:

My purpose is to please God, not people.

1 Thessalonians 2:4 says we speak as messengers approved by God to be entrusted with the Good News. So no matter what we’re doing or saying or thinking, we should do it with the Good News and God’s pleasure as our goal. That changes everything. I don’t have to live up to someone else’s expectations. I don’t have to live under the burden of anticipating what they want. The Bible tells me what God wants from me, so I’m free from the intimidation of others’ thoughts.

As I go about doing impossible and frightening things today, I’m going to repeat this confession. Who knows what I can accomplish when I forget my fear? Say it with me again: My purpose is to please God, not people.

Are you easily intimidated? What will you do in light of today’s confession?

Leave a Reply

