I will not get tired of doing what is good

This is perhaps the most important confession to make the morning of my big Christmas shopping day. I repeat it to myself several times before beginning the fearsome trek into the depths of Wal-Mart.

I will not get tired of doing what is good.

If that means smiling at the tired momma who just cut me off in the parking lot or handing the last coveted toy to the shopper next to me, I will not get tired of doing what is good. I will do it in Jesus’ name. And I will pray a blessing over the other shoppers. I will.

I will.

The Bible promises that if we do not get tired of doing what is good, we will reap a harvest of blessing at just the right time (Galatians 6:9). No, I don’t believe this harvest is related to piles of Christmas presents at 50% off. Isn’t it a great realization that praying is in itself a blessing? It touches us as much (or more than) the person we pray for. We have been given access to the very throne of the Almighty God, the freedom to lay our thoughts, worries, requests, and praises at His feet.

Now that’s a harvest of blessing. So say it with me:

I will not get tired of doing what is good.

Even in the mall parking lot. The food court. Toys R Us….

What’s your harvest of blessing as you do good?

One thought on “I will not get tired of doing what is good

  1. It’s our shopping day too! I think it’s hilarious that we will buy Isaac’s gift while he is sitting right there, and he will open it on Christmas morning and it will still be a surprise!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

