Jesus’ gift to me is peace of mind and heart

I admit it: I love gifts. A perfectly wrapped package with a pretty little bow on top makes my day. Wrap it in the funny papers, and it makes my day. Wrap it in foil. Whatever. And fill it with anything (chocolate and stationery products earn extra points), and I’ll be happy. The point is the joy of receiving a gift that someone thought would please me.

All that aside, the best gift I’ve ever received had no wrapping. It’s the gift that will continue giving until long after I’m dead, and I pray to pass this one along to as many people as I can reach. Jesus gave me the gift of grace, mercy, salvation, and eternal life with Him. Now that’s something Someone thought would please me.

It’s just like our God to be abundant with His gifts (we’ll talk more about abundance later) and this is no exception. He didn’t stop with grace, mercy, and salvation. He wrapped up the gift of peace and placed it straight into your heart.

Today’s confession isn’t one we can pretty up and place in someone’s outstretched hand. It’s as pretty as it could ever be, and it’s not ours to give. But we can speak it into our lives and pray it into the lives of others. Jesus said, “I am leaving you with a gift – peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.” John 15:27

Jesus’ gift to me is peace of mind and heart.

I confess it today. Will you?

2 thoughts on “Jesus’ gift to me is peace of mind and heart

Leave a Reply

