Anything is possible

I’m becoming an optimistic person.

It would be nice to believe that I’ve always seen the brighter side of things, and I have had moments of brighter-sides, but the truth is that I would not be writing a blog on confronting fears if I always saw the world through rose-colored glasses. Not long ago, I cowered in the darkness, craving the sunshine in my spirit. I even cowered in the sunshine, afraid of the moment it would diminish and clouds would once again cover me in chilly despondence.

But the healing power of Jesus Christ is complete and amazing in its immediacy. I no longer fear the darkness. I don’t fear the end of the sunshine. Now I live in the sun and bask in its warmth. I know how to deal with impending doom and darkness.

I believe.

Take a minute to read Mark 9:22-24. A father, a possessed little boy, and Jesus. The father says, “Help us if you can.” And Jesus says (with amused indignation, in my own mind), “If I can? Anything is possible if a person believes.”

Jesus isn’t talking about the power of positive thinking, or believing in magic or dreams. We can’t ask to win the lottery and then go on a spending spree. He’s talking about having faith in the power of the Almighty God. Read that again: having faith in the power of the Almighty God.

Today’s confession is one of faith and trust. Say it with full realization of the One worthy of your faith, trust, and belief.

Anything is possible because I believe.

What is the ‘anything’ in your life, and what do you believe about it?

Leave a Reply

