I trust in the Lord

My husband came home this week and told me work will be slow, possibly for months, and he won’t get full-time hours. Bills loom, little ones fuss for food, and our cars (and computers) need repairs. My first response is to panic, but something keeps my emotions in check. Barely. I remind myself that much of the world can relate – and even has a more dire situation than ours. Who can get us out of this mess?

With the national unemployment rate hovering at just over 9%, the jobs crisis continues. Headlines report the world economy is on the brink of crashing as hundreds of thousands of people pull their money out of national banks. The United States of America watches televised debates of potential presidential candidates and scratches their heads, wondering who can be trusted, who can get us out of this mess.

I’ve learned something in writing this blog. Whatever the situation looks like, I don’t need to panic. I don’t need to be afraid. Because I trust in the Lord.

Today’s confession comes from Proverbs 3:5: Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding.

When panic threatened to take me out at the knees, I chose instead to listen to the Truth. Yes, I’ve had to repeat this confession several times, but the effects are amazing. The more I say it, the more I believe it.

He loves you, dear one. He won’t let you out of His control. Who can we trust? Who can get us out of this mess? Only the Lord, the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, the Creator of the universe. If there’s anyone you can trust, it’s Him. So say today’s confession out loud or say it in the recesses of your heart. But believe it.

I trust in the Lord.

What does your situation look like? Do you trust in the Lord with all your heart?

4 thoughts on “I trust in the Lord

  1. Great blog Shelley. I can relate. Having lost quite a bit this past year, we always…somehow… have enough. My biggest sin, I think, is worry. No matter how many times God comes through, I always forget and think this is the time He is sleeping. The devil knows which buttons to push, and I hate that.

  2. I understand everything you’re saying here, Heather. I’m sorry you’ve had such hardship. The Bible says to resist the devil and he will flee from you, but sometimes that’s hard to do when we don’t even recognize the attack. I have to remind myself that we have the Answer and the Reason to stop our worrying. And somehow we always have enough, too. 😉

  3. He is faithful! The same yesterday, today and forever! I love it because even when we’re not faithful, HE is, to us. And He honors His Word over His name. WOW!!

Leave a Reply

