I will hope in God

What – or who – do you put your hope in? Like the foundation of a house, your hope must be solid enough to hold everything together and withstand tremors. Like a good friend, it must be close enough to be heard in spite of the screams of a dying world. Like every girl’s hero, it must be strong enough to listen to your doubts and remain loving and faithful.

Today’s confession holds all those characteristics. Try it out loud:

I will hope in God.

Whether you face job loss, financial difficulty, health issues, broken relationships, or other troubles, you must decide your foundation. Fear or faith? Hope or depression? Surrender or soldiering on? It helps to choose your foundation before troubles come, but the important thing is to choose well no matter when you do it.

Though the mountains crumble and the waters rise,

Though the fires rage and my heart trembles within,

yet I will hope in God.

In His lovingkindness He rescues His beloved.

He rains mercy and deliverance on those who fear Him.

I say again: I will hope in God.

Yes, even my soul hopes in God.

I choose faith, hope, and soldiering on. I choose to say today’s confession loud and without hesitation. Why are you cast down, O my soul? And why are you disquieted within me? Hope in God; for I shall yet praise Him, the help of my countenance and my God. Psalm 42:11

What is your trouble and what is your foundation?

6 thoughts on “I will hope in God

  1. Glad you liked the post, Sandy! (Er, Mom. Lol.) I’m a little slower than I’d like most of the time, but He’s faithful that when I do come to Him, He delivers me. Isn’t He the greatest?

  2. I thought for a little while that my mountains were crashing, Debbie, but He gave me perspective. A little rumbling maybe, and definitely some heat from the fire, but nothing He can’t handle. Glad you liked this post!

Leave a Reply

