I have overwhelming victory

There’s no easy way to begin today’s confession. It smacks one of the most pervasive temporal experiences about life right in the face. This culture, this economy, the lifestyle we live, and the people surrounding us attest to the lack of truth in our lives.

It was much too recently that I rocked a 13 month old baby in my lap, five months pregnant with another, weeping with fatigue, hopelessness, helplessness, and post-partum depression. My husband worked out of town four nights a week, leaving me with an unruly teenager and an infant and all of the daily hardships I couldn’t handle. I couldn’t find paying work in spite of sending out over 100 resumes and job inquiries in a six-week time frame. We couldn’t afford our mortgage payment. We barely got meals on the table. Every one of my five senses told me there was no hope. No God. No end to the struggle.

Thank goodness there’s more to life than what we can see and feel.

While my struggles – and yours – are real to life today, they are not the biggest and most important truth. They are lies meant to cripple you, to take your faith and your vitality and ultimately your life. I felt weak and powerless as I walked through this hardship. Valueless. Alone. Victimized.

To believe any of the lies this world casts on you all day is to accept far less than what you are meant to be. I am not a victim. I am not alone. I am not powerless, and you aren’t either. You have great value. Because our strength and power comes from the timeless Creator of the world, it is limitless and possible of infinite creativity.

Today’s confession might seem difficult and unrealistic in the face of your struggles, but that makes it even more important to look in the mirror and say it out loud.

Despite life’s struggles, I have overwhelming victory through Christ who loves me. Romans 8:37

What are you struggling with today? How does this confession change the way you see it?

3 thoughts on “I have overwhelming victory

  1. Great thoughts Shelley. When I think that life is leaving me shorthanded, when I think that I need more from life, God often brings me to 2 Peter 1:3,4 “His divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of him who called us to his own glory and excellence, by which he has granted to us his precious and very great promises, so that through them you may become partakers of the divine nature, having escaped from the corruption that is in the world because of sinful desire.” We truly need nothing else when we understand all that has been given to us through Jesus Christ. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. I love this scripture, Rob. Thanks for pointing it out. His promises ARE great, but I had to come to a place of brokenness before I could see just how great and how much He loves me. The truth is that this life does leave us shorthanded. Isn’t it amazing that we can call on God – who will never leave us at all? 🙂

Leave a Reply

