Do mighty things

When I was a little girl, I wanted to be Wonder Woman. Or She-Ra. Heck, I probably would have been content to be Mighty Mouse. The point was doing something mighty. Something that made me better than I was, something others couldn’t do, something that made me valuable. But I couldn’t do it.

Superheroes are super in part because they can do things no regular human can do and they don’t need help. Sure, everyone has their kryptonite, but the reason we call on Superman is because we can’t lift that building, deflect those bullets, or catch that falling airplane.

The only superhero I want to be today is Super Mom, or if I’m feeling very ambitious I’ll tackle Wonder Wife at the same time. Truly, I just want to worship the one true God, teach my kids about Him, and provide for my family. In this age of godlessness and economic hardship, maybe those are mighty things. But I know I can’t do any of them on my own. And so today’s confession reminds us where our ability comes from and helps us believe that we DO have ability.

With God’s help, I will do mighty things. Psalm 60:12 (NLT)

As you go about your daily activities, remind yourself of the truth and let it transform the way you see yourself and God. As one of our first affirmations said, you can do ALL things through Christ who strengthens you. This tells you the same thing. You just have to believe it.

What mighty things are you asking God to help you do today? Let’s talk about them.

Leave a Reply

