With God all things are possible

Pop quiz: When was the last time you used the word ‘impossible’? As in, “That’s impossible.” or “I’m impossible.”

For me, it’s almost a daily challenge to ban that word from my thinking. For one thing, I’m, er… slightly melodramatic. I think we’ve established that fact. I tend to over-exaggerate. (Are you proud of me? I totally avoided – like TOTALLY avoided – melodrama and exaggeration there. I’m never going to exaggerate AGAIN!)

For another thing, I like to use dry wit at my own expense. I roll my eyes and say, “I’m so impossible.” Or I look at my goals and think, “Yeah. Right. IM-possible.”

Today’s affirmation directly contradicts that thinking. I want you to look in the mirror this morning and say these words out loud, believing them, believing in the power of God. This is not about your own superior ability to do all things. It’s not about your super-human efforts. It’s not about you. This is about God, about His love for you, and about His power to do ALL things. (And that is not an exaggeration, my friends. That is Truth. See for yourselves.)

Confession: Every good and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning. James 1:17

With men, this is impossible, but with God all things are possible. Matthew 19:36

It stands to reason, then, that with God all GOOD things are possible. Want to make this affirmation more personal? Do it. “Every good and every perfect gift in my life is from God, with whom all good things are possible.” And name your gifts. Your spouse? Your children? The ability to pay all your bills – and still have enough to get a coffee or a special treat – in this time of economic uncertainty? How about friends that keep your chin up? Your health? Even pets can be gifts from God. Don’t forget those gifts that enrich others’ lives. Wisdom, joy, peace. Yes, all the gifts of the Spirit are included here. Look for them, too!

Go into the world today knowing that every good and perfect gift is from God and that He loves you so much, He wants to do impossible things in your life!

What impossible thing are you asking Him for today?

Leave a Reply

