Peace that surpasses all understanding

Don’t you love it when everything comes together? The sun shines, a gentle breeze blows, my kids get along, and I can think. Thinking is highly underrated in my opinion. On days like this, I can muster every marble in this feeble brain and string together a sentence or two that actually makes sense. It doesn’t happen often enough. But it seems to be happening today. So I give thanks for a break in the relentless fear that tries to drown me. I give thanks for a moment of calm in the midst of chaos. I give thanks for His peace.

And I wait for it to end.

Confession: Even on these good days, I’m plagued with thoughts of the darkness. When it will return, how dark it could get, and how long it might last. I know this is not His perfect will for my life. The God of the universe loves me and desires my peace. Why else would He give it to me?

Truth: Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. John 14:27

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7

What truth are you declaring over your situation? I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

