Fear vs. Truth

The word ‘confessions’ has a dirty secret feel, doesn’t it? Something you share in the corner of a crowded room with a quiet giggle or a raised eyebrow, knowing the world will soon hear every sordid detail, truthful or not. Or is it something to shout from the rooftops, unburdening your heart and setting yourself free from the bondage of secrecy?

I choose to shout from the rooftops. Not only will I unshackle myself, I will confess the Truth. Some about self-publishing, some about myself and my own experience, lots about other things. But always sharing the Truth in response to my dark secrets. I do this to transform my own mind, and hopefully others will benefit as well.

Two ground rules. I give myself freedom to be transparent. And I give myself freedom to believe.

My first confession: I’m not self-published yet, and I’m so scared my insides quiver. I’m scared of everything, but mostly I’m afraid of doing the wrong thing in God’s eyes. What does He want me to do?

The Truth: He has shown you, O man, what is good; and what does the LORD require of you but to do justly, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God? Micah 6:8

Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven. Matthew 5:16

How about you? Do you know when God is leading and what your next step should be? Or do you get lost in doubt and fear?

Leave a Reply

