Do whatever He tells you

When was the last time someone told you to do something? If you’re married or have a boss, chances are it was fairly recent. (If you have children, you’ve likely been told to do something within the last five minutes. Or two minutes. Or are being told right now.)

So did you do it? Whatever that person told you to do, did you obey?

I have to admit, obedience used to be one of my finer points. I don’t know if it’s a good point or a bad one, but as long as I knew what the directions were I could – and did – follow them. As I get older, I find that’s harder to do. The voice I want to obey now is not as clearly heard as my dad’s voice when I was young. It’s not as immediate as my husband’s voice or as loud as my children’s voices, though it should be all those things in its stillness and softness.

Perhaps it’s not the decibel or the clarity or the physical nearness that’s important to obeying. Perhaps it’s as simple as faith. If I have the faith that God will reach me in a way I can hear and understand, I will still obey Him. And obedience to God is vital to our relationship with Him and to our quality of life.

Today’s confession requires simple faith of a different sort than yesterday’s. This time, the burden of action is on you. But don’t worry. You won’t have to do it without Him. You can’t even if you try!

Do whatever He tells you. John 2:5

Today, you will confess to yourself and to Him that you will do whatever He tells you to do. Do it in faith that He will tell you in a way you can understand. Do it knowing that you want to obey Him. Do it knowing you are not alone.

“I will do whatever You tell me.”

What is He telling you to do today?

2 thoughts on “Do whatever He tells you

  1. Hey Shelley! It’s your friend Laura from over the mountain. I started reading your blog yesterday and I just wanted to share something really quickly. I used to be so burdened about this very issue. And I say burdened quite literally because it did really feel like a burden to me. When I would read Jesus’ words “My yoke is easy and my burden is light’ I would kind of laugh and say, ‘yeah, right!’. Because it felt like I could never get the ‘Christian life’ right. I was always messing up, never good enough, ect. But in the last few years my faith has undergone a radical transformation. I can’t really go into all of it right now but there are some verses that began to change my thinking about what the gospel truly is all about.

    John 14:13-17 -And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Son may bring glory to the Father. 14 You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it. 15 If you love me, you will obey what I command. 16 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever- 17the Spirit of truth.

    John emphasizes this truth that Jesus spoke in 1 John 3:21-24. This time, however, he clarifies what Jesus’ commands are that we are to obey.

    1 John 3:21-24 -Dear friends, if our hearts do not condemn us, we have confidence before God 22 and receive from him anything we ask, because we obey his commands and do what pleases him. 23 And this is his command: to believe in the name of his Son, Jesus Christ, and to love one another as he commanded us. 24 Those who obey his commands live in him, and he in them. And this is how we know that he lives in us: We know it by the Spirit he gave us.

    Jesus’ burden is light! Because he took all of our sins and the debt has been paid, God now looks at us and does not see our sin, only the blood of Christ that purifies us. And all that is required of us now is to believe in Jesus name, and love one another just as Christ loved us.

    So that is just a bit of my journey that I wanted to share.

  2. Laura! I’m so glad you shared this. What’s interesting (maybe sad-interesting, I don’t know) is that I think a lot of people feel the way you did. That we just can’t get this ‘Christian’ thing right. I’ve felt that way for years, which is part of the reason I blog. It’s getting more important to me that we realize the depth of His love and faithfulness to us, that we know who we are in Christ. We are redeemed!

    Like you, God has been working in my heart and showing me the truth, revealing His character. Isn’t He good? He doesn’t ask us to do anything we’re not capable of, and He doesn’t ask us to do it without Him. He gives us everything we need.

    So, God is telling us to believe in Jesus’ name and to love one another as Christ loved us. Very nicely put, my friend. Still, it’s sometimes not an easy burden as we feel the love Christ has for everyone, even if they reject Him, and we know what eternity will look like for them. And I think His Spirit urges us to pray for those people and perhaps to try reaching them with the love of God.

Leave a Reply

