Completing a good work

I woke up to two sp-ders in my kitchen this morning. Yeah, I’m so creeped out by the little monsters that I can’t even spell the word out. With two fascinated toddlers wanting to get close and inspect them, I had to think quick. Time to briefly revisit a confession from last week.

I. Can. Do. All. Things. Through. Christ. Who. Strengthens. Me.

Even kill a spider or two. But I wish I had a flame thrower to do the job. A little noxious spray or a treat loving dog will have to do. We teamed up and the dog got the smaller of them. I’ll let you know how the spray worked.

On to today’s confession.

Have you ever looked in the mirror – as I have – and wondered how you got where you are? This surely isn’t the person you imagined would look back at you ten or fifteen years ago. You aren’t in the home you planned for. Your job, providing you have one, isn’t as fulfilling or as lucrative as you hoped. Or maybe you aren’t even in the job you studied and prepared for. Ten, fifteen (okay, twenty) pounds slipped on when you weren’t looking and why can’t you find matching socks??

More good news, folks. We are works in progress. If you’re breathing, there’s still hope. I cling to that truth every day.

“He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ.” Philippians 1:6

Now, as we do every day, look at that image in the mirror and say it out loud. “He who began a good work in me will complete it.” Say it again. And again. Say it until you believe it. Say it until it changes the way you see yourself. Because remember, this life isn’t about us. It’s about Jesus. About the power of the Almighty God and about His love for us.

He loves you! Take today to rest in the assurance that He who began a good work in you will complete it until the day Jesus Christ comes.

Leave a Reply

